Project duration: 
2011 - 2013

The project examines the formation of coalition governments, coalition forms, and coalition governance in the ten new EU member states from Central and Eastern Europe (Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland , Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia). It uses a combination of methods - a content analysis of political texts (coalition agreements, content analysis of newspaper articles in selected print media, and structured interviews with political actors. One of the outcomes of the project is the creation of a comparative database of coalition governments in these ten countries.

Principal investigator: 
Torbjörn Bergman (Södertörn University)
Wolfgang C. Müller (University of Vienna)
Gabriella Ilonszki (Corvinus University of Budapest)
politics (and political attitudes)
Grant agency: 
International project